Cliff Burton February 10, 1962 – September 27, 1986

Today marks the 25th anniversary of the tragic tour bus accident that killed Metallica Bassist Cliff Burton at the age of 24. Cliff was, and still is one of my favorite bass players. Through Cliff, I was was exposed to a band that remains one of my favorites to this day. Cliff loved the The Misfits, who were a Horror Punk band from the same state as me, New Jersey.

If Cliff had not died, there is no telling what path Metallica might have taken or how different the band would sound today. It’s hard to believe that it has been 25 years.  Rest in Peace Cliff

3 Responses to “Cliff Burton February 10, 1962 – September 27, 1986”

  1. metalodyssey Says:

    I feel extremely fortunate that I was able to see Cliff Burton perform live with Metallica at a club, back in the Winter of 1986. It was at “The West Hartford Ballroom” in West Hartford, CT and the opening act was Metal Church. Whoa… I was against the stage and actually felt the sweat from Cliff’s twirling hair hit me in the face. I got roughed up pretty good in the pit too that night.

    Hands down, my greatest Metal memory of my entire life. \m/

    Thank you for remembering Cliff Burton like this… he was one of a kind.

  2. Unfortunately, I never had the chance to see Metallica while Cliff was still alive. I got into them about three years after he died. Thank you for taking the time to share your memory of this great musician and his time in one of the most influential bands of our time.

    • metalodyssey Says:

      It’s a Metal pleasure to discuss all things Metallica here. I later saw Metallica (about 3 months after Cliff Burton passed away) at the New Haven Coliseum in, of course, New Haven, CT. Metallica opened up for Ozzy. Jason Newsted was “the new dude” yet we were all familiar with him being in Flotsam And Jetsam too. It was a melancholy night, yet extremely memorable. The melancholy part was due to Cliff not being on the stage with Metallica… that is why I just cherish the moments when I do see my favorite (and even not so favorite) bands live. \m/

      Know what I also remember about that New Haven show? There were dudes dressed in long cloaks, holding burning candles walking around. They were not part of the Ozzy act either. (If they were, then I just never was informed). I guess some fans really wanted to go that “extra mile”. Good times.

Leave a Reply

